Vegan Double Chocolate Chip Cookies


‘Tis that time of the year, temperatures are falling, snow is falling (in some places), leaves have fallen, a lot of red, green and white everywhere. The holidays have become a lot more commercial now than they were before. It is still fun, getting a Christmas tree, aah the smell of a fresh tree. While I do not get a tree home, I take in whiffs of air every time I drive by this place that sells trees. In my mind, I picture myself in a beautiful landscape surrounded by snow-covered tall ever-greens, sitting by a fireplace and enjoying some warm cookies with a glass of milk… Warm cookies… warm cookies…. warm cookies… coming back to reality, the thought of warm cookies still echoing in my head I realize that perhaps in this moment that is the only thing I can make happen! Aah… love it when magic is in one’s control ;) I drove to the grocery store, pulled up this really cool recipe for vegan double chocolate chip cookies and started shopping.

Before I write down this recipe, I must share something that made the whole process of baking cookies and the cookies themselves much sweeter.

When I was at the checkout counter, my cashier, Nick, greeted me and asked me “How are you?” I replied, “Fine, thanks. How about yourself?” He replied saying that he was tired to which I said hopefully his shift was ending soon. Unfortunately, he had another 4 hours to go. I felt bad for him and hoped that his day improved. As he was scanning my items, I noticed that I had some Lara bars in my basket that I could gift him and hope to improve his mood or even bring a smile on his face momentarily. I picked it up and handed the bar to him. His first reaction was – “Do you want to remove this from your list?” I said “No, that is a gift from me to you, hope you enjoy it. :)” He was ecstatic, his face lit up and he told me he was not sure if he could accept it. I said to him “Of course, you can, it is a gift. All I ask is for you to pay it forward.” He replied.. “Definitely”. So there’s my story of a random act of kindness.

Thank you for patiently reading. Here’s the recipe I enjoyed and this will most likely go into my permanent cook book, once I master it by tweaking around just to get it right.

Notes:

  1. I did not have an electric mixer or food processor at that time, so I used all the strength of my arms to whisk and mix and maybe that is why my “whole Wheat” cookies were not as smooth in texture…. But delicious nonetheless
  2. The recipe calls for whole wheat baking flour, which I did use, but keep in mind, the cookies will taste slightly different than what you’re used to.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 Tbsp (tablespoon) ground flaxseed (equivalent of 1 egg)
  2. 3 Tbsp water
  3. 3/4 cup non-dairy, non-hydrogenated butter (such as Earth Balance)
  4. 1 cup granulated sugar (I used slightly less than 1 cup and I used brown sugar)
  5. 1 tsp (teaspoon) vanilla extract
  6. 1.25 (1 and quarter) cup whole-wheat pastry flour (you could use all purpose/white baking flour if you wanted)
  7. 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  8. 1/2 tsp baking powder (aluminum-free)
  9. 1/2 tsp baking soda
  10. 1/4 tsp salt
  11. 1 cup non-dairy semisweet chocolate chips (I used only about half a cup)
  12. Special ingredient that I addded – half a cup of tiny vegan marshmallows
  13. Might need 1 or 2 Tbsp of non-dairy milk or water

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 deg F (180 deg C or gas mark 4).
  2. In a food processor or blender (I used a blender), whip flaxseed and water together until mixture reaches a thick and creamy, almost gelatinous consistency. Set aside
  3. In a large-sized bowl, mix butter and sugar. Whip until creamy. Add flaxseed paste and vanilla
  4. In a separate bowl, blend the remaining dry ingredients except for choco chips and marshmallows.
  5. Add this mixture to the wet mixture and mix until everything is well blended. You can use a hand blender or food processor to mix.
  6. If you need a little extra moisture, add a small amount of water or non-dairy milk. (I added 2 Tbsp of almond milk).
  7. Finally, stir in the chips and marshmallows.
  8. Form balls on uniform size, flatten them slightly and lay on a baking sheet or aluminum foil.
  9. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until the tops are no longer gooey. You can turn on the oven light and monitor the cookies.

Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Recipe courtesy: The Joy Of Vegan Baking

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegan Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. smithereena says:

    They were tasty!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Ankur Jalota says:

    Vegan marshmallows? Haven’t seen those.

    You may like a drink I’ve been having lately. Rather than cocoa, I’ve been having soy milk with cinnamon, turmeric, and local honey (my vaccine!).

  3. ahmedrd says:

    Delicious!

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie « Butterflies and Brownies

Leave a Reply

