Z for Zen


Definitions of zen:

  1. Traditional/Regular Dictionary: a Japanese school of Mahayana Buddhism emphasizing the value of meditation and intuition.
  2. Urban Dictionary: a total state of focus that incorporates a total togetherness of body and mind. Zen is a way of being. It also is a state of mind. Zen involves dropping illusion and seeing things without distortion created by your own thoughts.

A lot is written and spoken about zen. What comes to your mind when you hear the word zen, how do you relate to zen? I believe that zen is more like to each his own. There is no recipe for zen, some find it in painting, while some others find it in gardening. But the common thread is focus, focusing with the mind, body and emotion on the task at hand aka being fully present. Zen comes easily when we’re doing things we enjoy; at least for me it does, so any time I find myself juggling too many things or overwhelmed, I take a break to do something I am passionate about. That activity brings me back to equilibrium.

mindful

Someone once told me that zen is a type of religion or is related to a certain religion. No, Zen has nothing to do with any religion and everything to do with every religion. Zen is a state of being, you can experience zen while praying, zen while playing and zen while driving too.

What do you do to restore the balance?

I shall leave you with that question to ponder upon and this…

Source: google images

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Z for Zen

  1. Marie-Eve B. says:

    I love your definition of zen, refreshing… :)

  2. Ahmed says:

    For me… Prayers, gym, and weekend activities are all means to restore my balance.

    The cartoon poses a very important question in our lives. The following links provide some reflections on the purpose of life from an Islamic perspective, if you would allow me to share them, and I hope you will find them of benefit.

    http://ia700803.us.archive.org/27/items/InTheShadeOfTheQuranSayyidQutb/volume_16_surahs_48-61.pdf (pages 167 through 170).

    http://www.sultan.org/articles/purposeolife.htm

    Well… I had to resort to the computer to provide my feedback on this important question. My computer was not down :)

Leave a Reply

