Why “Life could be worse” attitude may help us rise


I am currently visiting my favorite city and my home – Mumbai. In the last few days as I’ve been driving around various parts of the city, I passed through the slums of Mumbai made famous by the movie – “Slumdog Millionaire”. As I watched each person, I noticed, the life spirit that shines in them. Perhaps I had become immune to this part of Mumbai when I lived here, but this time it touched the inner strings of my heart. Metaphorically speaking, living in high rises we tend to be blinded to the realities right under our noses. Shielded by the comforts and luxuries of our lives, we get spoilt and mistake our desires to be our needs. With this, I thanked God for the life I’ve been given and also thanked him for giving me the opportunity to help others who are not as fortunate. In the US, I volunteer with a group that believes in “Pay it Forward”. So with that in mind, as we were stuck at a light, I quickly got out of the car and handed the traffic police some snacks that I had bought earlier. He smiled and I smiled back and said “Pay it forward” in the local language. My Hindi is not polished, but I requested him to “Pay it forward” in Hindi. Later that evening, the AC technician had come to fix a water leak in the AC. He was really into his job, very meticulous and sincere. He was so determined to the fix the problem, that he even went out on the ledge where the fan/motor was sitting, examined the motor and then after realizing that the pipe was clogged, he actually sucked the water out the pipe and de-clogged the pipe. He became a hero of sorts for me! After he was done, my mother offered him dinner and I offered him a monetary tip for his excellent work. We all have so much to learn from people like him! His name is Shravan. With that in mind, I hope to continue my daily random act of kindness towards my fellow human beings.

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Mind and Soul and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why “Life could be worse” attitude may help us rise

  1. Hanna Wilbur says:

    Is this where you live? It is similiar to what I experience daily. It is so amazing how every kindness comes back to us in a great way :). It feels AWESOME too!
    Check out my post titled “Beautiful Butterfly on the Bus” and “What Goes Around Comes Around”.

Leave a Reply

