Not Just Stairs, Musical Stairs.


Musical stairs reminds me of the Tom Hanks movie – Big. I remember watching it as a kid and being totally blown away by the huge piano keys built into the floor. I imagined being there myself while watching Tom Hanks play the piano by jumping around and stomping back and forth between the keys.

In 2009, the German automaker – Volkswagen did something along those lines. Difference was that they turned regular stairs into a piano to make it fun and encourage people to use the stairs instead of the escalator; to promote health and fitness.

I found the following on the autoblog: VW didn’t send out a lame piece of PR extolling the virtues of exercise to get some hearts pumping harder. Instead, the automaker turned an ordinary set of subway stairs into a mega-sized piano, they called it “The Fun Theory”. When passers-by step on the stairs, each key makes the appropriate piano sound. VW says 66% more people used the stairs after music came on the scene, and judging from the video, it looks like they were having fun doing it, too.

For those of you who haven’t watched Big or forgotten the Piano scene, here’s a refresher 🙂

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Just Stairs, Musical Stairs.

  1. Hanna Wilbur says:

    I saw “The Fun Theory” on another guys blog and I LOVED it! I will never see learning the same way anymore :D. Many thanks to you for putting this up.
    Since tomorrow I’m gonna do my first exam, so I’m now writing the topics in tomorrow’s exam on my blog. It’s fun–at least for me ;P hahaha… Plus, I’m not only studying for myself, but other people could also benefit from what I’m learning 🙂 (angel smile on).

Leave a Reply

