Soup On The Go


Today I am going to post a recipe my aunt passed on to me on my recent trip to India. Its super easy and super quick to make and best of all, its 100% healthy AND it tastes yummy! It’s proven really useful when I’ve had a busy work schedule and my healthy eating habits went for a toss. When I did not have enough time to make a proper meal at home, I’d just make this super quick soup to get by. Of course soup by itself does not qualify for a meal, so I’d add a salad or sometimes pasta tossed in olive oil with mushrooms and garlic and seasoned with salt and pepper…then, the rest of the day I could get away with eating the outside junk and not feel so bad! πŸ˜‰ Anyway, so that is why I named it “Soup-on-the-go” πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, I do not have pictures this time, next time I shall remember to click some.

The best thing about this soup is that it is super simple and you can use those extra vegetables in your fridge which are not sufficient to make something from but good enough to just toss ’em. Feel free to alter the ingredients as per your inventory πŸ™‚ I love the fact that its a hassle-free recipe… especially for the times when I feel lazy or tired, I don’t have to do much prep work or cooking to feed my tummy!

Tip: I love to experiment and try out different stuff when I am cooking, so I encourage you to experiment as well, its fun you’ll find out soon πŸ™‚

Here’s what you’ll need:

Serves 2. Time: 30 minutes to prepare, cook and serve

Ingredients:

1 carrot – peeled and chopped

1 small beet root – peeled and chopped

1/4 cup green peas – peeled

1/2 cup of chopped cauliflower

6 french beans (also called green beans)

1 cup bottle gourd/long melon – peeled and chopped

Salt to taste

Black pepper to taste

Artisan bread to go with the soup if you like.

Cilantro or mint for garnish

Method:

In the Indian household, it is very common to find most food cooked in the pressure cooker. So if you want, you can wash and chop up the ingredients and toss them in the pressure cooker and cook for about 20 minutes. Alternatively, you can steam cook or boil the vegetables.

Toss the cooked ingredients into a blender and blend it to a consistency of your liking.

Once done, pour it in a mixing bowl and make sure the vegetables are well blended. Add salt per your taste. Mix well and serve. Garnish with cilantro and some freshly crushed black pepper if you wish.

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Soup On The Go

  1. Hanna Wilbur says:

    Hmm… this is a good idea! It never accord to me to blender all the ingredients together. I should try this out sometime. I’m usually all about food that only takes 5 minutes to make πŸ˜› hahah. Like fried rice, fried vegetables, vegetable soup the Sundanese way, and so on.
    Thank you…

  2. Great! It’s vegetarian, looks like it will taste good, I have just GOT to re-blog this.

    • One Change At A Time says:

      Thanks Alex, but its a very simple, quick to make soup. Not a fancy restaurant soup! πŸ™‚ But it definitely has the earthy goodness and love that it is made with. If you every try it out, do let me know how it turns out and how you like it πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Soup On The Go (via The Change Revolution) | All of time and space

Leave a Reply

