Everywhere But Nowhere


I did not write yesterday, the reason for this was.. well let me start by saying that I had a great day yesterday. Woke up early, made lunch and got to work by 9:00am (9:00am for an engineer in the tech industry here in California is early by most acceptable standards! ^_^) Had a productive day, ate home-made lunch outside in the warmth of the sun and causal pecks on the cheeks by the slightly chilly breeze that reminded me of the fact that it is still winter even though the sun may be out and teasing me! I used the remainder of my lunch hour to read this wonderful book which I am going to write about very soon.

Everything was so good that I was looking forward to writing yesterday. However, when I sat to write, I felt some sort of deficiency for the exact thoughts I wanted to share yesterday. I had so many scattered thoughts, but couldn’t settle down for one and write on it. I felt as though I was everywhere yet nowhere in my thoughts. For a few minutes that made me uneasy, but then I accepted it and decided to close my laptop and just close my eyes and try to clear my head. I did so, but in vain.  So then I tried some breathing exercises my mum (who is a Yoga instructor in Bombay) taught me. It helped me relax, and I tried to write again. Finally I decided not to fight “it” anymore and just let be. I headed out to meditate with some of my friends. I found myself struggling even more to empty out my thoughts but it did help me nail down the thoughts/worries/feelings that wanted my attention and so after the attempted meditation, and catching up with friends, I went back and tried to understand those thoughts. One thing that I did figure out was that last night was meant to be an observing and listening period. So, I did not write then.

This morning as I was driving to work, I figured that some times its best not to fight everything just because we are programmed to view/accept them in a certain way. Maybe by not fighting it, we are discovering a new perspective.

Thanks for reading. Have a wonderful day.

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Mind and Soul, self-help and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

