Avocado Smoothie/Milkshake (Vegan friendly)


Thanks to advancements in technologies, Avocado has traveled far and wide leaving it’s country of origin – Mexico. I first got a taste of this super delicious fleshy fruit. Before I share the recipe with you, here are few cool facts about Aaaahhhvocado!!!

The avocado also goes by these names: Butter pear, alligator pear to name a few. Many may think that it got the name alligator pear due to its knobbly skin, but in fact it is derived from an Aztec word: “ahuacatl“.

The avocado is high in protein and carbohydrate. It is one of the few fruits that contains fat and it is also rich in potassium, Vitamin C, some B vitamins and vitamin E. Its rich oils, particularly vitamin E contents make it popular as a skin and hair care ingredient.

I love love love love Avocado and especially this smoothie/milkshake. This is my recipe and I tweak it every time based on my mood, requirements and inventory 🙂

Ingredients:

Avocado milkshake - ingredients

Avocado milkshake - ingredients

  • 8 ounces/1 cup – soy milk/almond milk or plain ol’ cows milk
  • 1 full ripe avocado
  • 1 to 1.5 tsp of vanilla extract (shown in the picture is a real vanilla bean pod that I already had and wanted to use it)
  • 1 Tbsp of brown sugar (you can substitute with whatever form of sugar/sweetner as per your liking and health/diet requirements)
  • 1 Tbsp of honey
  • Feel free to tweak the measurements and ingredients as per your liking. I am an experimental cook. I like to think of myself as a culinary artist 😉

Note: Avocado is fleshy, so it will be thick. I advise to add more milk later if you want and then blend it again until it reaches the consistency you like.

The final product looks like this. I garnished it with saffron. I love saffron. You can garnish it with mint if you like or just have it plain and simple. 🙂

Enjoy art in the kitchen!

Avocado Smoothie

Avocado Smoothie

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avocado Smoothie/Milkshake (Vegan friendly)

  1. Nice! I might use this… 🙂

  2. Hanna Wilbur says:

    I am so lucky this is a regular fruit where I live. I can just buy an avocado juice from a vendor on the side of the street. Yes, this is my third favorite fruit after Nangka and Coconut ^_^!

  3. Pingback: Avocado Smoothie/Milkshake (Vegan friendly) (via The Change Revolution) | All of time and space

  4. Lisa Marie says:

    yummy! I used almond milk, ice and honey lone. It was great. I saw a recipe with fat-free sweetened condensed milk that looked good as well. I have made lots of shakes with silk tofu as well.

Leave a Reply

