For The Love Of Pistachios


I love pistachio nuts! They’re one of my favorite snacks. Dry, roasted and un-salted are the best kind.

Pistachio nuts

Pistachio nuts

Here’s some fun facts on pistachios:

  1. High in fiber
  2. Excellent source of protein (26g in ~50 kernels)
  3. Rich in antioxidants
  4. Stress reducer
  5. Rich in plant sterols
  6. Cholesterol reducer
  7. Good source of healthy fats (monounsaturated and polyunsaturated)

Here’s a website that gives nutritional info on a 1-oz serving of pistachio nuts (dry, roasted and unsalted) selfnutritiondata

You can add pistachios to your diet in one of the many following ways:

  1. Snack on ’em
  2. Sprinkle ’em on your yogurt or ice cream
  3. Add ’em to your oatmeal
  4. Add ’em when baking brownies or muffins
  5. Add ’em to pancakes
  6. Add ’em to salad
  7. Blend almonds and pistachios and add a Tbsp to warm milk to enjoy “Masala milk” – this is something I loved to drink as a kid.
  8. Get creative and add pistachios to different food items to give them a personal touch 🙂

Enjoy your pistachios and please do share your stories on the nut we all love 😉

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to For The Love Of Pistachios

  1. classyrose says:

    I love pistachios too and they definitely have to be unsalted. 🙂

    I’m sending out a challenge to bloggers in the WordPress challenge to take part in The RandomBlog2011 Challenge. You can read more about it in my post:

    http://whatsbuggingmetoday.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/or-not-randomblog2011-challenge/

    🙂

  2. Hanna Wilbur says:

    I’ve never heard of those nuts before… Do you have a picture of it? I’ll check it out if they have those on the international supermarket downtown :).
    @Classyrose: I’ll check out your challenge ^_^

  3. Hanna says:

    Aaah… oke, I’ll check them out! 🙂

  4. I love those nuts! 🙂

  5. Pingback: or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 2 – Tips « Things in life I find annoying

  6. Are you o.k.? You’ve missed a few days.

  7. Pingback: or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 4 « Things in life I find annoying

  8. P says:

    You forgot Pistachio ice cream!

  9. P, thanks for reminding me. I love pistachio ice cream. ^_^

  10. Timmer says:

    Love pistachios, never thought about putting them with pancakes or anything, not quite sure if I could put them in a salad though. Always been unsure about the whole salad and nuts thing.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. Really appreciate it 🙂
      Well, I have always loved nuts. I like to add nuts to ice creams, brownies and salads too… especially almonds, pecans and walnuts…and I’ve added pistachios to a spinach & strawberry salad.

  11. After reading the post again, I really like the idea of having them with salads and pancakes. I will try them with that very soon!

    Like One Change At A Time I have always loved nuts. I’m grateful I’m not allergic to them, like some people are…

    • Yes, I am lucky as well that I am not allergic to nuts. Toasted pistachios with salads (for ex: strawberry spinach salad with goat cheese and pistachios) goes really well. I have yet to try pancakes with pistachios.

  12. Pingback: Pistachio and Mint? The Recipe of Grasshopper Pie « Calogero Mira, Food and Recipes

  13. Pingback: Pistachio dreams. Italy vacations.The flavor of memory and desire. | nobluehair

  14. Pingback: For The Love Of Pistachios (via The Change Revolution) | All of time and space

Leave a Reply

