Aaah Astronomy


As early on as I can remember, I have always been fascinated by our solar system and beyond. I still have vivid memories from when I was 5 years old of me staring at the moon, looking for the rabbit and an old woman. I would love to sit out on the porch in the evenings and look at the night sky and identify different stars.

Skipping forward to the present, I still am very much fascinated by the space, extra-terrestrial objects and the advancements in our technologies to study these. A while back, I posted a photo of the moon that I took from my camera that was hooked to a telescope. You can find it here: Moon moon. Every now and then I read up on news and related facts on astronomy, research on space, etc..

Today during lunch, I was browsing and came across these fun facts:

  • Scientists believe that we can only see about 5% of the matter in the Universe. The rest is made up of invisible matter (called Dark Matter) and a mysterious form of energy known as Dark Energy.
  • The Sun produces so much energy, that every second the core releases the equivalent of 100 billion nuclear bombs.
  • Galileo Galilei is often incorrectly credited with the invention of the telescope. Instead, historians now believe the Dutch eyeglass maker Johannes Lippershey as its creator. Galileo was, however, probably the first to use the device to study the heavens.
  • The Crab Nebula was produced by a supernova explosion in 1054 A.D. The Chinese and Arab astronomers at the time noted that the explosion was so bright, that it was visible during the day, and lit up the night sky for months.
  • My Fave – Shooting stars are usually just tiny dust particles falling through our atmosphere. Comets sometimes pass through Earth’s orbit, leaving trails of dust behind. Then as Earth plows through the dust in its path, the particles heat up, creating the streaks in the night sky.

These and more fun and cool facts about the world out there and beyond can be found on the WWW.

Have a good weekend! 🙂

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Education, Fun Stuff, Planet Earth, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aaah Astronomy

  1. Hanna Wilbur says:

    Yes, I am also fascinated about it. I could even close my eyes and literally sense the energy around me. There was this one time in Junior High that I could sense a very strong energy from someone. I could really feel him/her even though I haven’t met this person.
    In University I met a guy and guessed that this was the person I felt–cuz he was giving out the same energy that I felt when I was in junior high. He lived in the same city as me.
    But, well, I’m not that good in sensing energy, this was just an exception for some reason (I don’t know yet why).

  2. “we can only see about 5% of the matter in the Universe”. Wow! Thanks for the facts! 😀

  3. Anonymous says:

    This is a very good blog, and the facts are interesting.

  4. humanitarikim says:

    I love astronomy, too. Maybe you will like this video as much as I did.

  5. Pingback: Aaah Astronomy (via The Change Revolution) | All of time and space

Leave a Reply

