Mumbai Meri Jaan: The City Where I Grew Up


Literal translation of the title: Mumbai my life.

Not-so-literal translation: Mumbai my love

The Gateway of India (built to welcome Queen May and King George V to Mumbai)

Mumbai, formerly known as Bombay is the city I call home. I grew up in Mumbai and have seen the city change, grow and go through different phases just like you and I do. πŸ˜‰

Mumbai is a city in the state of Maharashtra which is in the country – India. Over the last decade or so, India has definitely established its place on the map of globalization. Much earlier many people around the world who did not if India existed and even if they did, some could not locate it on the map.

The famous Taj Hotel, one of the targets of the 26/11 terrorist attack in 2008

There are different aspects of this wonderfully colorful and diverse city that attract people to her. For some it is Bollywood, for some it is business and trade, for some it is just being in the “Big Apple of India”.

Origin of the word Bombay: It is often said that the name Bombay comes from the Portuguese phrase bom bahia meaning “good bay”.

Origin of the word Mumbai: The City derives its name from the goddess Mumba Devi.

Some interesting facts about my home city:

  • Population: Around 20 million and rapidly growing as I write.
  • Total area: 437.71 sq km (~quarter the size of NYC and London)
  • One of the few (if not the only) countries to be invaded and ruled by most of the western world, the longest being the British rule.
  • Bombay was made the headquarters for the East India Trading Company.
  • Bollywood: Probably dishes out way more movies per year than Hollywood. If you’re interested in Bollywood movies, I recommend Lagaan, Swades, Dhobi Ghat: Mumbai Dairies, Mother India, Mughal-e-azam. These are a few of the movies from my “Must Watch” list πŸ™‚
  • Melting Pot of India: People from different parts and cultures of the country come together, but this loving city is also home to people from different parts of the world.

There’s so many things I could keep on writing, but for today, I shall stop here.

I have learnt so much from this beautiful city that I have called home for the longest time; despite all the chaos, Mumbai functions amazingly well. Even though the traffic is crazy in the city, people still make to the airport on time, reach work on time. Even though everyday people in the 100s come to Mumbai to make home in this city and the population is ever so growing, she still manages to welcome and provide for everyone. Over the last few decades, the city has witnessed natural calamities, terrorist attacks, political wars and in those times, the unity of the people is well reflected by how they come together inspite of their difference to help one another.

I’ll end the post on the following note:

Do visit Mumbai, the city of a million dreams, at least once in your lifetime. I promise, you won’t be disappointed. ^_^

Photo Courtesy: C’est moi (Me!) ^_^

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Diversity, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mumbai Meri Jaan: The City Where I Grew Up

  1. Stef says:

    Your pictures are terrific. I had the opportunity to visit India back in 2006 – I was in Bangalore for 10 days. It was a very different, interesting, once-in-a-lifetime kind of experience.

    • Dear Stef, I cannot say how Bangalore compares to Bombay (aka Mumbai). But I can definitely tell you think Bombay is a unique city, unique experience, unlike any other. Sure there are sights that may make one sad or some might even call it an eye sore. But, 1. Mumbai is just like any other big metro. 2. India is a developing nation and unfortunately the population is rising exponentially and the country’s growth falls short sometimes. But the life spirit of these city dwellers is one not to be missed.

  2. Hanna says:

    I hope I will have a chance to go there someday ^_^!

  3. Jaan Pehchaan says:

    Love Bombay!

Leave a Reply

