Date Night: With Myself


As we get older, we get busier, it’s either school, homework, sports, college, friends, social life, work, exams, family, etc..we lose track of time and space. Sometimes, we may even get stuck in a rut. How often do we consciously take a time out? time out for ourselves, to spend time “with” just ourselves.

I remember, one time I was talking to my mother on the phone and she asked me, “my dear, what are you upto today?” I replied: “Nothing much, I am just at home alone today”. To this she nicely told me something that has changed, since that moment, so dramatically of how I see myself. She told me: “Sweetheart, you’re not alone, you’re with yourself”. “You’re spending time with yourself. It is a much needed time that you should spend with yourself.” She added: “Notice that in all these sentences I never said, alone, by yourself, instead, I used the words – with yourself.” I exclaimed: “Aha! Interesting”.

So after I finished the telephone conversation with her, I took a look around, smiled and spent that evening with myself. That night I spent time in reflection, introspection, reading books, pampering myself. Since then, I save a date every other week, to spend with myself. πŸ™‚ I have also started meditating on a weekly basis, which I hope to make a daily affair.

I encourage everyone to set aside at least one day of the week, fortnight or month to spend in your own company πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Health, Mind and Soul, self-help and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Date Night: With Myself

  1. artys999 says:

    Amazing post! I am new to WordPress and I came to this blog and it is amazing. My brother doctorwhofan98 is on WordPress, I think. Do you know him?

  2. Stef says:

    Interesting – I had a date with myself yesterday, too!

    And, I meditate every day: http://meditationmania.wordpress.com/

    πŸ™‚

  3. It would be nice to have a night to myself every so often… but, unfortunatly, I play in a Brass Band 3 times a week, go to two Christianj youth groups and have other commitments. My life is busy, though I will try to make time.

    Thanks for the advice!

  4. Hanna says:

    I have time for my self at least 5 times a day–around 5 minutes each time.
    You have such a great mother… You are one lucky girl, Kay ^_^!

Leave a Reply

