Literary Week


This week, I have decided to spend 2 hours every evening reading. I like reading, but lately haven’t been able to do so regularly. I wonder how many books does one read in his or her lifetime. I think the average number may 50. What do you think?

Why do we read? I think we read to stimulate our minds, our imagination, improve our vocabulary, become knowledgeable, etc..

Based on the books I have in mind right now, I hope to read 3 books this week. Next Monday, I will be posting results of this challenge. I will also post 5 of my favorite reads.

So, tell me. Do you read? How much do you read? Fiction/Non-fiction?

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Literary Week

  1. Good luck with the challenge! I would like to be able to read for two whole hours every day! I like fiction lots, and I read for about 30 mins every day.

    • Thanks A! ๐Ÿ™‚ My goal is to read for 2 hours daily only this week. It doesn’t have to be 2 continuous hours, but a total of 2 hours. I am hoping that this will get the ball rolling for what may become a daily reading ritual.

      • Sounds good! A little bit of reading there, and there, and in that little break…. hopefully that will add up to 2 hours!

        I’ve got a holiday (though I don’t actually go away) coming up in a few weeks, so I hope to read lots then. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Jaan Pehchaan says:

    Well, the average number may be low. But here are some prolific readers:

    1. http://accismus.com/2011/01/05/a-breakdown-of-the-books-i-read-in-2010/
    2. http://onehundredonebooks.wordpress.com/about/

  3. Stef says:

    As a child (first grade), my school had a reading contest to see how many books each student could read over the course of the academic year (so, September to June). I’m a bit of an overachiever – I read 2,049 books. Now, to level set: These were children’s books (think Dr. Seuss); but still, for a 7 year old, that ain’t bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    These days, I prefer to read non-fiction; but occasionally I like a good fiction story. Still, non-fiction is what I gravitate to naturally. Something that can educate me. Something I can learn from.

  4. Pingback: Books By My Bedside | The Change Revolution

Leave a Reply

