World Water Day


O.K! Seems like March is the month of different World Days! ^_^ St. Patricks Day, First Day of Spring, World Poetry Day, World Water Day, wonder what other days 31 of March covers.

I have decided to save a gallon of water by using that much less today. I try to save as much water as I can on a daily basis, but I don’t keep a count. However, today I shall measure/weigh approximately how much water I use when I am being thrifty. I hope that that forms a benchmark for me to maintain going forward.

What are you planning on doing today to save water?

Here are some interesting facts I found on the NatGeo website. You must check it out, I shall add the reference links at the end of the post. There is also a really cool interactive quiz that you can take to find your water footprint. I took the quiz and this is my result:

BTW, one must be honest when taking this quiz. You don’t have to show anyone, just take it to become aware and using water smartly in the future.

 

My water footprint

In developed nations, we seem to take water for granted. But when we take a moment to think about millions of other people across the globe who probably survive on a single bucket of water a day, it puts us to shame, at least it does, me.

From the NatGeo website:

Did you know that 1,800 gallons of water are used to produce one pound (16 ounces) of beef! Think about that! The average American eats about 21 ounces of beef each week. Do you eat more or less?

Know this: The average American lifestyle is kept afloat by nearly 2,000 gallons of H2O a day—twice the global average.

The bright side: By pledging to cut your water footprint, you can help return more water to rivers, lakes, wetlands, underground aquifers, and freshwater species.

So far there have been 6,535 pledges and a total of 1,206,640 gallons of water pledged.

What may come as a surprise is that very little of that—only five percent—runs through toilets, taps, and garden hoses at home. Nearly 95 percent of your water footprint is hidden in the food you eat, energy you use, products you buy, and services you rely on.

Click here to take the quiz and learn more about water consumption, conservation and other handy tips to save water, learn about how much water goes into the production of meat, etc..

The more we save, the more water we leave for healthy ecosystems and a sustainable future.

 

Water-saving facts and tips

Water calculator sources and credits


About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Education, Planet Earth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

