Doing vs Not Doing


“Doing vs not doing is what distinguishes success from failure.” – The Change Revolution

The west coast of the United States has been experiencing heavy rains with gusts of wind and overcast weather. I haven’t been able to enjoy running with nature lately. So I mostly spend a few hours every week in the gym.

A few days ago, I had a long work day and I was so tired after coming home, I almost convinced myself to stay home and take it easy, unwind, watch some TV. I came up with reasons that made sense why staying at home would in fact be better than going for a swim.Β So, I slouched on the couch, surfing the channels on my TV set (yes, I still haven’t upgraded to the hi-tech, hi-fi, LCD/plasma screen TV yet). As such, I am not much of a TV person. On an avergage, per week, I probably watch 5 to 6 hours of TV.

A Sketch I made: Doing vs Not Doing Distinguishes Success From Failure

Anyway, getting back to my story. As 5 minutes passed by, I shook myself, well not literally, but in a manner of speaking, yes, I shook myself, and in that moment, the rays of the sun broke through the clouds and entered my house through the blades of the blinds, almost as if reflecting the realization that dawned up me – not for the first time πŸ˜› – but yet once again in the most dramatic way ever, which BTW, is the case every single time πŸ˜‰

So, I jumped off the couch, this time, literally. Got my swim bag ready, picked up my keys and drove off in the distant darkness. Seriously, like I said before, it was dark and overcast. Once, I dipped my foot in the pool, that’s it. I was smiling from ear-to-ear. So glad, I didn’t end up lazing at home, apparently, “unwinding” from the long day – well sometimes, that is necessary, but this was not that one time. I swam laps, back and forth, had so much fun.

Then on my way back, I turned on the radio and listened to songs, to which the rain drops, hittingΒ my windshield provided the perfect background score.

When I came home, I made this sketch to illustrate how if at any time in life, we fail, it is mostly ONLY because we chose NOT DOING vs DOING.

Have a great day y’all πŸ™‚

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, self-help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doing vs Not Doing

  1. I really like the post, and the cartoon… I’m reading this from my iPad, and your blog looks great on it… πŸ™‚

    • A, thanks so much for commenting. And an even bigger thanks for saying that my blog looks great on the ipad :). How do you like your iPad BTW? I haven’t bought one yet… Maybe next year… Have a great day my friend.

      • I don’t actually have an iPad…. πŸ™‚ I enabled the ‘developer’ menu in Apple Safari for Windows, chose the website to think I was using an iPad, and visited your blog. It looked like it would on an iPad, anyway. πŸ˜€

        The latest WordPress.com announcement said it was enabling a new look on every blog for the iPad. The sketch on this post was the “lockscreen” image for your blog.

        Have a great day!

        PS: I hope you had a nice swim. πŸ˜›

  2. eva626 says:

    haha wonderful post for sure!!! and cute picture! glad you went for a swim!!!

    • haha! thanks… personally, I think I’ve learnt best when I saw pictures with text and I think scientifically it has been proved that it is a more effective way for the brain to grasp and remember stuff πŸ˜‰

  3. Stef says:

    Love it! I’m with you – I feel SO much better when I DO versus what I slack and don’t do. Terrific reminder – thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

