Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff, It’s All Small Stuff


A well wisher gifted me a book titled “Don’t sweat the small stuff, it’s all small stuff” by Richard Carlson. Last year, I was going through some tough times that I was not ready to handle. Well, like they say, life is lesson and getting through those times, helped me learn a thing or two about coping with tough times and this book certainly helped.

While life is going about just fine, lately it’s definitely been a bit chaotic and I feel as if I am everywhere yet nowhere.

A couple of nights back as I got into bed, my eyes fell on this book that lay on my night table. I picked it up and flipped randomly to some page and started reading. Interestingly enough, the page that opened up was titled – “Do One Thing At A Time”. The author says that when we do too many things at once it’s impossible to be present-moment oriented. Thus, we not only lose out on much of the potential enjoyment of what you are doing, but you also become far less focused and effective.

The author goes on to ask the reader to try an exercise. According to him, we should block out periods of time where we commit to doing only one thing at a time. Whether we are washing dishes, driving the car of talking on the phone, we should try to focus only on that one thing. Be present in what we are doing. Concentrate.

The author says that by focusing on only one activity at a time, firstly, we will start enjoying what we are doing, even if it is something as mundane as washing dishes or folding clothes. Secondly, we will become more efficient at what we’re doing.

Alright, so I shall definitely put in more effort in NOT multi-tasking and just focusing on one task at a time. Woohoo! so excited. 🙂

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in self-help and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff, It’s All Small Stuff

  1. Hanna says:

    I’ve read the Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff for Teens. It is a good series and it makes me happy to know there are others inspired by the book also ^_^!

  2. smilesndreams says:

    Interesting! I guess we are so used to multi-tasking that it’s hard to sometimes think to do one task/or even think about one thing at a time. I’ll try and read that book…

  3. Pingback: Anger: A Trait Of The Weak? | The Change Revolution

Leave a Reply

