The Most Delicious Split Pea Soup


Usually I do not like to brag about myself, but OMG! I think this recipe is my second best soup after the asparagus soup I made a few years ago! Of course, the recipe itself was good, but I tweaked it a little bit here and there.

If you try this at home, try to enjoy every spoonful and notice the different flavors that are bursting out. I especially loved the earthiness of this soup.

OK, on to the recipe now, cuz if I describe it more, it’s going to make me leave this post half way and head for the kitchen to make me a pot o’ soup.

This recipe can be enjoyed by vegans as well.

Serves 6, please adjust as per your requirements

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 3 lean and long carrots, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 3 tablespoons fresh thyme leaves
  • 3 tablespoons mirin (mirin is rice cooking wine, can be found in the asian aisle of your grocery store)
  • Sea salt
  • Black pepper to garnish
  • A few sprigs of cilantro for garnish
  • 3 cups green split peas
  • 9 cups vegetable stock
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1 Meyer lemon (zest and juice)

Method Of Preparation:

In a soup pop or large Dutch oven over medium heat, saute onion, carrots and celery in oil until soft (about 4 minutes).  Add thyme and mirin, season generously with salt and saute 2 minutes longer.

Rinse split peas and add to pot with sauteed vegetables. Add stock and water and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to simmer, cover and cook for 2.5 hours or until peas are soft and soup is thick.  If peas don’t fall apart completely, puree with handheld blender until smooth.  Remove from heat, stir in lemon juice and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Top with lemon zest and cilantro and serve.

The original recipe can be found on nomeatathlete’s website

Like always, I try to take pictures for my readers…. so here’s one

splitpeasoup

Split Pea Soup

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

