Cooling Down With A Cucumber Salad


Summer sun, warm temperatures, long days means it is time to get out those skirts and flip flops out… I am looking forward to a fun filled summer….. However, with the temperatures rising it is essential to keep the body hydrated and cool. Speaking of cool, I tried this delicious cucumber salad a few days ago. It was so good that I had to share it with you all.

Before I go on to the recipe, here are some cool facts about the cucumber

  1. Hydrating
  2. Vitamin C
  3. Vitamin A
  4. Some fiber
  5. Cooling effect
  6. Cucumber water can be used on swellings and irritated skin to soothe the inflammation
Japanese style cucumber salad

Japanese style cucumber salad

The recipe is a mix of recipes from food.com and eatingwell.com.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 medium sized japanese or regular cucumber thinly sliced
  2. 1/2 Tbsp soy sauce
  3. 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
  4. Salt to taste
  5. 2 tsp of ground black pepper
  6. 1 tsp sugar (or as per your liking)
  7. 1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds (I used more because I love sesame seeds – it’s totally your call)

Toss all the ingredients except the sesame seeds in a bowl and mix well.

I let it marinate in the fridge for 3 hours before consuming. However this is not a requirement, if you wish you can consume it right after making it also. But I strongly recommend letting it marinate for a couple of hours at least.

Sprinkle the sesame seeds before serving. Enjoy! 🙂

 

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cooling Down With A Cucumber Salad

  1. jsh0608 says:

    While I was reading this and seeing the picture, I swear I could totally smell it. I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing. :0)

  2. Hanna says:

    Hm… this smells totally healthy ^_^

  3. I love cucumbers! But there has been problems with people dropping dead after eating them recently…

Leave a Reply

