Daylight Savings Showed Me A New Light


A lot of countries across the world have incorporated the concept of “Daylight Savings” and United States is one of them…. One of the ideas (not mentioned on the wiki page) when DST (Daylight Savings Time) was first introduced was to lengthen the sunlight during the day time hours, so that body clocks better adjust since our lives are no longer governed by the movement of the earth and the moon. Also, it saves us some electricity as the day starts earlier.

Over the weekend, when the change occurred, I was a bit grumpy about losing “my precious” hour of sleep. But that passed and this morning, I naturally woke up ahead of my alarm at 6:00am. At first, the neon light of the alarm was not pleasing and I turned it off and slipped under the covers. But I couldn’t snooze my sleep and so I decided to just get out of the bed and have an early start to the day… As I got out of my bed and started making it before I left the room, I noticed that unlike Friday morning, there was hardly any light cutting through the blinds.

I made my bed and went on to brush my teeth. Aaaah! the fresh feeling… before its broad daylight šŸ˜› Then, I came back into the bedroom, opened the blinds, opened the windows to let some fresh O2 (oxygen) in. I stood by the port-fenetre, looking out and smiling to myself as I thought…wow, I had almost forgotten the absolutely wonderful, beautiful feeling of seeing the sun rise in front of my eyes. This feeling gave rise to another light that I felt grow warm in my heart.

With this warm and bright feeling, I sat down to start my morning Yoga (thanks to my Ā  wonderful mum who’s taught me Yoga and educated me about its benefits). I started with a couple of deep breaths. Then I spent about 20 minutes practicing a few different breathing exercises before I went on to do my 10 minute sun salutations.

I ended my Yoga with 1 minute of silence in gratitude and 1 minute of silence in asking for forgiveness.

After such a beautiful experience, I had to share it with you all. Hope you all also have an equally or more wonderful day and week ahead.

If you are already waking up with the sun, then you’re so awesome! šŸ™‚ If you haven’t done this in while, do try it… it’s an amazing feeling. I’d love to hear your experiences, so please do comment.

In Gratitude,

Me.

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Mind and Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daylight Savings Showed Me A New Light

  1. TBM says:

    I love waking up with the sun. I used to sleep with all of my curtains open but I can’t do that here…or I could, but I prefer having the privacy.

  2. f-stop mama says:

    What a wonderful way to embrace the time change! So many are complaining about it but you have found a way to make it a positive. Personally I love Daylight savings (it does take me a couple of mornings to get used to it being dark in the morning, but I love how late it stays light out).

Leave a Reply

