Rediscovering Apps On My Phone


This morning..after updating my iPhone, I decided to spend some time “cleaning” up my phone… and I am so glad I did, because I discovered, rather rediscovered an amazing app on my phone that I had completely forgotten about.

If you have a smartphone, I am sure you’ll be able to find it on your appstore.

The app is called “GoodGuide”. When you scan a bar code using this app, it searches its DB (database) and finds out all possible information about the product and gives you a rating in the following categories:

  1. Health
  2. Environment
  3. Society

It then goes on to give you the following information:

  1. Behind the ratings – how they calculate the ratings, the sources they use for this, etc..
  2. Certifications – what all certifications the product has
  3. List of top alternative products
  4. Top products in that brand
  5. Ingredients

For me, #5 is the most helpful, because for the consumer it is not easy to tell just by looking at the ingredients on the product label whether it is safe for use or not. Just because the FDA or other such legal bodies authorize the product does not necessarily make it 100% safe. For eg: It has been now discovered that certain forms of parabens are known to cause cancer. So it is very important you know and understand what each chemical ingredient in the product that you use, does.

This is how the app looks:

Good Guide App

For more information, please visit their website – http://www.goodguide.com/

Let me know your thoughts if you already have the app and use it, or if you download it after this post and start using it.

Have a terrific thursday! 🙂

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Health, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

