The Plant That Spoke To Me


“If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change.” ~Buddha

My mother has been my inspiration and teacher for most things I like, love and do in my life and one of them is love and appreciation for nature. She always wanted to have a garden and grow her own veggies and fruits. However, living in an urban jungle surrounded by tall buildings and bridges on all sides, it was not possible to have a yard. But she is not the one to give up, so when we had our house remodeled,Β  she made sure that the interior designer made provisions for potted plants. Today she has at least 15 different plants growing, some are herbs, some are flower bearing while some are just simple green plants. All of them give her a lot of joy.

When I was a child I was stand besides her as she watered the plants and observe her mood elevate when she looked at them, watered them and nurtured them. It was almost like seeing a child grow, sans the diaper-change, crying and growing up into an unruly teenager πŸ˜‰ haha… so naturally, I can understand now why she was so happy. No, really, today as I have my own little garden on my balcony, I can understand the joy she must have received from the gardening she did.

I had my first plant back in 2003. It was a fern-like green plant. I wanted to start with a low-maintenance plant. Starting with baby steps, right? It grew well but eventually when I moved cross country, I had to give it away to my friend who I trust is taking good care of it even today πŸ™‚

A few years ago, I took a bigger step and got a variety of different plants, some are flowering, some are herbs and others are just beautifully simple green ones. I love them all. While I always loved nature and appreciated everything nature, I hadn’t yet opened this wonderful gift of nature – F.R.I.E.N.D.S in plants until 2007. It was one morning, when I was watering my plants and I sat for a few minutes besides them and looked at them. I was too shy to talk to them, mostly because I did not want passers by to think I was coo-coo. So I communicated with them telepathically πŸ™‚ and as I communicated my love and fondness fore them, I felt this energy, +ve energy fill my senses and my body. It was a tingling feeling that rushed through my body and a big smile emerged on my face. I knew it, I knew it that they were communicating with me. I embraced them in a virtual hug.
I still remember that day, it was one fantastic day! Since then, I’ve always had plants in my balcony, in my office, by my bedroom window, on the kitchen counter top, etc…

Now, not only do I receive a lot of joy from my plants, I have also learnt a lot from these wonderful and resilient beings.

  • You plant a seed in the soil and it absorbs the best and emerges through the soil towards the light.
  • It grows big yet humble and flexible in it’s demeanor.
  • Come rain or shine, it continues to do what it’s gotta do.
  • You give it a little water and it makes the best of it, uses some and stores the rest in its roots for later use, anything in excess is purged. But from this we learn that excess is purged but it can also take away with it some vital nutrients. So just like plants, we must also learn to take just enough and not be greedy.
  • Nature has its way of adjusting to its surroundings. We too must mold ourselves to our surroundings so that we can all co-exist in harmony, in a symbiotic fashion.
  • Even if a plant does not produce fruit or flower, it is as important as the ones that do. It has its own purpose on this planet. One of them is to provide humans with fresh oxygen. So this teaches us to be humble, kind and loving to our fellow human beings.

Here are some pictures I have taken randomly over the last few years, the first one here, is one I took just yesterday. It is a cilantro (coriander) plant that I have grown from scratch. Other plants that I have are – cilantro, mint, lavender, aloe, fern, african violet, lucky bamboo, green chilli, chicken-and-hen plant. Some are simple pictures, while some a creative πŸ™‚
I hope that some of you will plant a seed today or adopt a plant. Trust me there is no joy greater than seeing a beautiful plant blossoming from what was just a seed when it started. Isn’t it amazing, what that little seed got in it…..

…..The zest to live! Live and foster life.

One of my few cilantro plants.

Mint plant – very easy to grow, low maintenance and resilient

Daffodil plant – comes as a bulb, easy to plant and are perennial

chicken-and-hen variety. succulent, thrives in light and does not need much watering.

my plants have also been home to cute spiders and sometimes ladybugs

A pair of lovely birds having fun in one of my potted plants.

One of the newer additions to my plant family – a daisy plant.

A succulent plant gifted by a friend.

Not quite sure what this is. I do not recall planting anything in this little pot, but nevertheless happy to see some cute little one shooting out of the soil.

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Nature, Planet Earth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Plant That Spoke To Me

  1. f-stop mama says:

    The quote caught my eye so I had to check out this post. Love that quote!! Great post and I too am a nature lover. We need more of this kind of thinking in our daily lives. Now I need to go out and grow some plants πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Since I was little, up until now, I still talk to plants. Well, I don’t discuss everything, just when I’m in the mood, but what’s important is I believe they understand what I’m talking about. Seems like I’m not the only one ;). Horay to ‘plant talking’! I don’t only talk to plants, but also rocks, books, even I’ve apologized to a straw for throwing it away before I get to use it… I also sometimes talk to my food, showing gratitude, or apologizing–for throwing it away because I didn’t get to finish it before it got bad :(. Nice to hear from you, thanks for lifting my writing spirits up πŸ˜€

  3. Hanna says:

    Since I was little, up until now, I still talk to plants. Well, I don’t discuss everything, just when I’m in the mood, but what’s important is I believe they understand what I’m talking about. Seems like I’m not the only one ;). Horay to ‘plant talking’! Love that your plants made a lovely company for the birds :D. I don’t only talk to plants, but also rocks, books, even I’ve apologized to a straw for throwing it away before I get to use it… I also sometimes talk to my food, showing gratitude, or apologizing–for throwing it away because I didn’t get to finish it before it got bad :(. Nice to hear from you, thanks for lifting my writing spirits up πŸ˜€

  4. Ankur Jalota says:

    Check out the intensity of this guy:

    Using plants to change the world!

Leave a Reply

