Fun Friday


Hi All! Have special plans for the long weekend?? No? Just looking to relax and catch up on the precious beauty sleep? 😉

How many of you agree this has become your morning routine now?? I used to be one until recently. Came across this image and a good read last week, thought I’d share.

Morning Routine

Morning Routine (Courtesy: xkcd.com)

It doesn’t take much to change habits. Just remember to treat a habit you want to break as a bandaid. You just gotta rip it off. Of course, while the bandaid strategy may not apply to all habits one wants to get out of, but to most it does.

For example, someone once told me that if she wanted to exercise in the morning but waking up and getting out the sheets was the hardest part and by the time she’d get out, she would come up with some reasonable excuse not to go exercise. She then started keeping her running shoes by the bed, that way she gradually changed her habits, one step at a time. She then started keeping her workout clothes ready and hung on the bathroom door. Within a month’s time, she had changed her habit.

I used to be a night owl for the longest time and I actually enjoyed it. I found myself to be more productive. However, sleeping late meant waking late and then going about the work day left little or no time for a workout. As happy as I am to get a workout any time of the day – only because better to workout at odd hours than not to work out at all – I thought. Deep down, though, I didn’t like working out at 9:00pm.

So one day I told myself I’d sleep early and wake up early, but of course, this is not something that was going to happen overnight (literally!). I got into bed at 10:30, but my body was not used to shutting down so early, so it took a few days, more like a couple of weeks but eventually I transitioned from night owl to a morning robin and I am loving it. 🙂

So, now to the article I was reading on FastCompany.com. You can find the entire article here

Highlights of the article:

  1. Do not check email in the first hour of waking up. If it is important you’ll be reached by phone.
  2. Spend a few minutes in gratitude – being thankful for all that you have.
  3. Eat the frog and get it out of the way (Frog is the painful task you MUST do)
  4. Choose your frog.

The following are my additions to the first hour of waking up:

  1. Open your windows and try to absorb some energy from the morning sun and some oxygen from the morning air
  2. Smile to yourself
  3. Read something positive, be it a news article or a kindness story. From my personal experience I can say that doing so, brings a big shift in one’s mood.
About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Mind and Soul, self-help and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun Friday

  1. Hanna says:

    Thank you for this post. I like the part in the article: Ask Yourself If You’re Doing What You Want to Do. Its easier waking up in the morning knowing I’m going to do what I want to do :).
    My ‘frog’ (hey, frogs are cute…) would be doing my research project hahah… ‘^_^
    Hope you’re doing great :).

Leave a Reply

