Mung Bean Sprout Medley


My Sunday evening (today) went something like this:

Put on a playlist of chirpy, hummable songs on my iPhone, danced my way into the kitchen, whistling to the tunes playing, opened the fridge and after a quick scan of the crisper sections pulled out some veggies; laid them out on the counter top; ta-da… set up the cutting board, inspected my beautiful set of stainless steel knives and pulled out a couple. Turned on all the lights for a dramatic effect and began my work.

Rewinding back to Friday night, I had soaked some (1 cup) mung beans and some (quarter cup) brown gram (belongs to the family of garbanzo beans – smaller and brown in color) in two separated bowls with lots of water and stuck them in the oven – not to cook/bake them; the oven usually is a nice warm place to help sprouting. After letting them soak overnight, I got the bowls out of the oven on Saturday morning and drained all water from both bowls completely. Let them sit in colander to let all water drip out. (Alternatively, you can lay them on a sheet or two of kitchen towels.)
Once the excess water was completely drained, I took two muslin cloths and transferred the beans and grams to the cloths and tied them tight, moved them to 2 other bowls, covered them and stuck them back in the oven. Since the days are still warm here, beans do not take more than 2 days to sprout, but sometimes it make take longer and that’s fine. Just make sure you inspect them regularly (every morning or evening after the second day) if you need to keep them in the cloth for longer.

One of the advantages of tying them in cloth and freeing them of excess water is to prevent odors and sliminess that may form if sprouts are kept in water for more than 1 or 2 days.

Come Sunday morning, I got them out of the oven and the mung beans had sprouted beautifully… the grams had sprouted well enough. I emptied the sprouts into two containers, sealed them with lids and gave the containers a good shake, a toss-n-shake to the right, a toss-n-shake to the left and done… Stored them in the fridge.

Fast forwarding to a few hours ago, after the setup was complete, I got the ingredients needed for the tempering. The good thing about sprouts is that you can enjoy them as is (raw) or give them a quick toss in a wok with some olive oil and seasoning. Since I also had mixed sprouts, I decided to temper them.

For tempering the sprouts, I took

  • 2 Tbsp of olive oil (you can use any cooking oil),
  • 1/4 tsp of mustard seeds, cumin seeds, fennel seeds and ajwain seeds (also known as carom, ajowan, or bishop’s weed)
  • Ginger, minced (optional – qty as per your preference)
  • 2 thai green chillies, minced (optional – qty as per your preference)
  • 1 dried red chilli, minced (optional)

Turning the stove-top on medium flame, I added the oil to the wok. Once the oil was hot, I added the mustard seeds. Only after the mustard seeds began popping, I added the remaining ingredients with the ginger-chilli paste going in at the very end.

I then added the sprouts gave it a toss to make sure everything mixed well. After 2 minutes, I turned off the flame and let it sit.

Then I turned around and started working on my raw ingredients for the medley. You know the super cool thing about making a sprout salad?? You do not need special ingredients. Just use whatever you have in your fridge. I used the following:

  • 3 medium carrots – coarsely shredded
  • 1 medium cucumber – finely chopped
  • 1 small bowl of spinach – chopped
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes -halved
  • 2 Tbsp of grated coconut
  • Cilantro – chopped
  • Salt to taste
  • Juice of 1/2 Lime or lemon

Remember, be bold, experiment, add whatever ingredients you think might add to the deliciousness of this healthy healthy salad.. for example, if you have celery or potatoes (boiled) or maybe even make a vinaigrette (I have a super tasty recipe for OJ-mustard vinaigrette) if you’re planning on consuming the sprouts raw.

With my music on, camera waiting to click click click and above all, me enjoying, time just flew.. Aah… the joys of lazy, relaxed Sunday evenings.

While, I got my ingredients ready and indulged in some amateur  food photography, the tempered sprouts got some time to cool down.

All the freshness, color and aroma got me salivating like a dog… okay not really, but my mouth was watering and I was ready to eat…

Got a nice big bowl out, started with a heapful of sprouts at the base, then started adding all the ingredients (in proportion to the sprouts in my bowl) one after the other to the bowl, except for coconut and cilantro. Mixed everything and finally added the remaining ingredients. With a generous squeeze of a half lemon, the sprouts were ready to be enjoyed by moi and my friend. Snapped a couple last shots and the savoring began.

This wonderful recipe is not only filling, but also packed with goodness of carrots, spinach, sprouts, etc.. so you get Vitamin A, folate, vitamin E, vitamin C, etc…AND…. it is delicious!!!! Yummmy for the tummy!!

Here are some photos (clearly I was impatient and hungry), hope you like them and hope that this post encourages you to try this recipe or some form of it. If you do end up making it, please come back and share your experience.

Have a great week ahead.

Mung bean sprouts

Closeup of the sprouts.

Gram sprouts (pardon my amateur food fotos)

Cilantro

Carrots, cucumber and coconut

Full-of-folate spinach

 

Ingredients laid out on the table

 

Mung Bean Sprout Salad – Shot #1

Mung Bean Sprout Salad – Shot #2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mung Bean Sprout Medley

  1. ahmedrd says:

    Looks delicious!

  2. Hanna says:

    This is great! No wonder every time I try to grow my own sprouts they go bad :(… I kept them moist for too long! This is such an easy recipe that I must try for myself* ^_^!

    *Hanna is not such a good cook yet 😛

Leave a Reply

