Hearty and Easy Habits towards a Healthier You


We all know that Life is not a straight line, it is in fact a squiggly line with pebbles and boulders along its path. There are times when life is straight and everything is fun, rainbows with pots of gold at the end, sunny and warm. You wake up in the morning, eat a healthy breakfast, cook/pack your meal, and have a great day. However, that last for a short time and suddenly everything is chaos, there are days when you feel like your world is falling apart. I’ve certainly been there. It starts with skipping breakfast one day, then eating lunch out, then stopping by Taco Bell drive through, coming home and crashing. This has a ripple effect resulting in further poor choices of food, energy levels plummeting down and it becomes harder than ever to break the cycle. Sounds familiar?

Here is what I do –

  1. Write down your health goal(s)
  2. The internet is a great place with lots of amazing resources to recipes, quick yet healthy meals and snacks etc… Look it up for ideas and jot down the most appetizing ones, of course the healthy kind ūüėČ
  3. Remember not to get carried away in all the excitement and jot down only achievable recipes and tips.
  4. Make a grocery list for the items you don’t have and then be off to your favorite health store. My go to store is Whole Foods. IMO they have a wide selection of organic and vegetarian/vegan produce and food items
  5. Come home, make the things you can make ahead of time and store it in smaller to-go containers, if you’re usually on-the-move and out of the house like me.

Here are some suggestions from my own practice, feel free to incorporate these based on your needs. If you have a health condition, please consult your doctor before you try anything new.

  1. I buy a bag of mixed nuts — NO added sugary stuff or M&Ms — which I divide into small portions and pack them in small containers and then store them – that way in the mornings when I am in a hurry, I simply grab and go! Win!!!! woohoo
  2. Who doesn’t love a little crunch, eh? I buy cucumbers and celery and some tasty (healthy of course!!!) hummus dip. Come home, julienne the cucumber and celery and store it in a ziplock bag. Every night, I make a small snack box of a few sticks and a dollop of hummus and there’s another snack I have ready to go
  3. I love avocados! I take a whole avocado and throw it in my lunch bag. It not only fills me up, but it’s a healthy fat
  4. I buy Quinoa, it’s very easy to cook – thrown in some veggies and some spices/herbs/masala and voila! you have a healthy meal
  5. Lentils are a great source of protein and are very healthy. I make curry and rice. Oh my, I cannot tell you how much I love this – it’s my staple meal!

I was inspired to write this post based on a recent post by¬†Matt Frazier from NoMeatAthlete¬† – “How to Put Healthy Eating On Autopilot

Here’s to a Healthier You! and a Healthier Me!

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

