You And I And All That Is Around Us


“We cannot live only for ourselves. A thousand fibers connect us with our fellow men; and among those fibers, as sympathetic threads, our actions run as causes, and they come back to us as effects.” – Herman Melville

I was going through some emails this morning and one of the emails I read started with this quote. I kind of understand and resonate with this quote. I say “kind of” because it left me thinking about the latter half, “..among those fibers, as sympathetic threads, our actions run as causes and they come back to us as effects…” we are all connected, I am sure if you’re curious like me, you’ve been wondering about this for a while now, if we’re all connected, how are we impacting each other, how can we act consciously? Right? The world appears to be getting more hedonistic? It depends what glasses you have on. I always try to start with my assumption of people around me being like me and my experiences therefore are shaped by that instead of looking at everyone and everything with doubt and skepticism. Of course, sometimes people are not what we perceived them to be. Perhaps, we should start without any judgment at all? just observe from a neutral place?  Maybe that is another post.

For today, let’s be aware of every thought that crosses our minds, every word we speak and every action we take. I’ll share how that goes from my end at the end of the day 🙂

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

