Meatless Monday


Yesterday while I was grocery shopping I felt like making pasta. I haven’t had pasta in a while so I bought basil and tomatoes – the only ingredients that were missing from the list for a recipe I had in mind.

Perhaps a lot of us do this but here’s an important tip:                                                                                         –>NEVER GROCERY SHOP WHEN HUNGRY! <– I ended up buying some yummy snacks and of course as soon as I come home and empty out my groceries, I plant myself on the couch and snack on those mostly healthy goodies and so out the window went my dinner plan with my appetite. Oh well!

Still craving pasta I decided to make it today (Monday night dinner). For those of you who may not already know I am vegan so for me every day is a Meatless Monday! I can’t tell you how much healthier and stronger I have been since I went vegan. Not only did I shed pounds and body fat, I also have more energy to get more things done in a day in addition to saving many many animal lives and saving our environment

Before I start cooking, I usually lay out all the ingredients in front of me. As I opened the fridge to get some of the ingredients I saw I had a zucchini in the crisper drawer. In the spirit of eating healthier and wasting less food I decided to make zucchini pasta instead of using actual pasta. I had initially planned on making angel hair pasta – simple yet bursting with taste, my slight tweak? Replaced organic whole wheat angel hair pasta with fresh zucchini pasta. If I may say so myself not only did it turn out great, it was so delicious, filling and tasty that I finished everything I made 🙂 and I do not feel too full or like I over ate. Here’s the recipe for those who’d like to try it out:

Zucchini Pasta with home made tomato sauce

Zucchini Pasta with home made tomato sauce

Serves 2, Prep time: 10 minutes, Cook time: 10 minutes or less

Ingredients:

  1. 1 medium sized zucchini
  2. 1 Lb tomatoes finely chopped
  3. 1.5 Tbsp olive oil
  4. 1/4  red onion thinly sliced (you can add as much or as little as per your preference)
  5. 2 garlic cloves thinly sliced (adjust as per your preference)
  6. 1 Tbsp of italian dried herbs (oregano, thyme, etc..)
  7. A pinch of chili flakes (optional)
  8. Roughly 1/4 cup of chopped basil (Set aside a couple of leave for garnish)
  9. Lemon zest (as per your liking)
  10. Cracked blacked pepper (as per your liking)

Method:

  1. Using a spiralizer (doesn’t have to be fancy, I have a very basic $5 one), spiralize the zucchini into noodles (of course you always use good ol’ pasta too :)) and set aside
  2. Pour the olive oil in a pan and set it to very low heat
  3. Add garlic and onion and cook for a minute or two, stir to prevent it from sticking to the pan
  4. Next add the dried herbs and chili flakes and cook until garlic starts turning golden brown.
  5. Then add the tomatoes and cook a little more. Cook it longer if you’d like it to be more saucy or for a few minutes until it’s softened enough
  6. Lastly add the chopped basil, lemon zest, salt to taste and cracked black pepper
  7. Give it another minute or two before turning off the flame.
  8. Toss the zucchini into the bowl using salad tongs such that the noodles are covered with the goodness of the tomato-basil sauce (or you could eat like shown in the photo)
  9. Season with more black pepper and lemon zest if you’d like
  10. Eat to your heart’s content (^_^)

 

About One Change At A Time

Me - I just want to spread goodness and happiness... one good deed at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meatless Monday

  1. rachelmuller says:

    Now I want some. I like the way you wrote everything in detail and it’s easy and interesting to read.

  2. Ahmed says:

    Looks delicious. I want some 🙂

Leave a Reply

